If Julia Childs Had Instagram

Leave a comment

27/11/2012 by Megan Posner

Here I am, my first year not in school, my first time with a full-time, good paying job and I’ve moved back home-ish. I spend a lot of time wandering, whether on foot or in my car or simply around my tiny, 2 person cottage. Sometimes I’m pondering philosophical questions. Other times I’m having premature mid life crisis bouts of fear. A good portion of the time, though, I’m cautiously learning the boundaries of my relationship with freedom.

The thought that scares (and excites) the shit out of me is: “I’m actually managing to grow into a decent human being. Someone I wouldn’t mind having a cup of coffee, or a good cry, or a laugh with”.

I leave work and wonder, “what next?” Not children, not marriage, not zombie-apocalype combat training…not yet. What next?

Apparently, I also wander in Barnes and Noble…

I spontaneously purchased a cook book because I realized that philosophical ponderings don’t do very much for my appetite.

Kiss the Cook

Handing over my debit card for this cookbook, I acknowledged that my thought process wasn’t original. Remember Amy Adams and Meryl Streep in Julie and Julia? The plot line: “To cook every recipe in Julia Child’s cookbook”?

Is it plagarism if the cook book is titled ‘Cooking with Trader Joes’ and all the recipes are vegetarian?

Post-College Ho-Hums

I’ve watched a handful of my adult male friends go through this post-college frustration. They just want to finish something. Whether it be a book, or a motorcycle or a good presentation at their job. As a female, finding a husband or reproducing are not the only accomplishments I hope to achieve.

What next??

Well as my brother has put it after seeing all the canvases in my room: “I’m shitting art”. Which is how I reacted when my boyfriend said “naw” and ended things. Now, I want to finish this cook book. This way, when I find a guy with a hearty appetite, we can cook together. Instead of the fool taking me to chipotle almost every night.

Here Goes Everything!

For dinner this evening I tried something completely new. Cooking lentils from scratch. Very aromatic! Mixed with a marinara sauce and spinach, blanketing some brown rice pasta…bon appetite!

I highly recommend growing a forest of basil. Everything is a bit better with basil. Also, I recommend playing the “Etta James Radio” on Pandora while cooking. Magic.

Sincerely,

La Farfalla

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other subscribers